OFFICIAL NOTICE
(Post Where Employees Can Easily Read)

ACCRUED SICK AND SAFE LEAVE ACT OF 2008

REQUIRES EMPLOYERS IN THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA TO PROVIDE PAID
LEAVE TO EMPLOYEES FOR ILLNESS AND FOR ABSENCES ASSOCIATED WITH
DOMESTIC VIOLENCE OR SEXUAL ABUSE.

EMPLOYERS REQUIRED TO COMPLY WITH THE ACT

Pursuant to the Accrued Sick and Safe Leave Act of 2008, all employers employing employees in the
District of Columbia must provide paid leave to each employee, including temporary and part-time
employees.

EMPLOYEE ELIGIBILITY

To become eligible to access leave under this Act, an employee must work for the employer for one year
and work at least 1,000 hours during the year. Employees are entitled to paid leave for their own medical
care and also to aid or care for a family member as defined by the Act.

ACCRUAL START DATE
An employee shall begin to accrue paid leave pursuant to the Act on the date the individual qualifies as an
employee (becomes eligible), provided that accrual shall not commence prior to November 13, 2008.

NUMBER OF HOURS ACCRUED
Accrual of paid leave is determined by the number of employees an employer has and the number of
hours employees work. Use the following chart:

If an employer has... Employees accrue ... Not to Exceed...

100 or more employees 1 hour per 37 hours worked | 7 days per calendar year

25 to 99 employees 1 hour per 43 hours worked | 5 days per calendar year

Less than 25 employees 1 hour per 87 hours worked | 3 days per calendar year
UNUSED LEAVE

Under this Act, an employee’s accrued paid leave carries over from year to year but employees cannot
access more than the maximum allowed per year, unless employer allows. Employers do not have to pay
employees for unused leave upon termination or resignation of employment.

ENFORCEMENT

The Office of Wage-Hour of the DC Department of Employment Services can investigate possible
violations. An employer who wiltfully violates the requirements of the Act shall be assessed a civil penalty in the
amount of five hundred dollars ($500) for the first violation, seven hundred and fifty dollars ($750) for the second
violation, and one thousand dollars ($1,000) for the third and any subsequent violations.

EMPLOYEE PROTECTION
Employees who assert their rights to receive paid leave pursuant to the Act are protected from retaliation.

TO FILE A COMPLAINT OR FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

To request full text of the Act, to obtain a copy of the rules associated with this Act, or to file a complaint,
contact the Office of Wage-Hour at (202) 671-1880, 4058 Minnesota Avenue, N.E., 4th Floor, Washington,
D.C. 20019, or visit www.does.dc.gov. Complaints shall be filed within sixty {(60) days after the event on
which the complaint is based unless the employer has failed to post notice of the Act.

AVISO OFICIAL
(Colocar en un lugar evidente donde los empleados lo puedan leer ficilmente)

LEY DE LICENCIA POR ENFERMEDAD Y SEGURIDAD DE 2008

REQUIERE QUE LOS EMPLEADORES EN EL DISTRITO DE COLUMBIA OTORGUEN LICENCIA CON
GOCE DE SUELDO A LOS EMPLEADOS POR ENFERMEDAD Y POR AUSENCIAS RELACIONADAS CON
VIOLENCIA DOMESTICA O ABUSO SEXUAL.

LOS EMPLEADORES DEBEN CUMPLIR CON LA LEY

De conformidad con la Ley de licencias por enfermedad y seguridad de 2008 (Accrued Sick and Safe Leave Act of
2008), todos los empleadores que tengan empleados en el Distrito de Columbia deben otorgar licencia con goce de
sueldo a cada empleado, incluyendo a los empleados temporales y de tiempo parcial.

ELEGIBILIDAD DE LOS EMPLEADOS

Para calificar a fin de acceder a una licencia bajo esta Ley, un empleado debe trabajar para un empleador por un afio
y trabajar por lo menos 1,000 horas durante el afio. Los empleados tienen derecho a licencia con goce de sueldo para
obtener atenciéon médica para si mismos, asi como para ayudar o cuidar a un miembro de su familia, tal como lo
define la Ley.

FECHA DE INICIO DE LA LICENCIA ACUMULADA
Un empleado empezara a acumular licencia con goce de sueldo de conformidad con la Ley desde la fecha en que
califique como empleado (sea elegible), siempre que no se inicie antes del 13 de noviembre de 2008.

NUMERO DE HORAS ACUMULADAS
La acumulacién de la licencia con pago de sueldo se determina de acuerde al nimero de empleados que tiene un
empleador y el nitmero de horas que trabajan los empleados. Utilice el siguiente grafico

Si un empleador cuenta con... Los empleados acumulan... No debe superar...
.

100 o mas empleados 1 hora por 37 horas trabajadas 7 dias por afio calendario
gy _________________gg.__— o

25 a 99 empleados 1 hora por 43 horas trabajadas 5 dias por aiio calendario
. oo

Menos de 25 empleados ] hora por 87 horas trabajadas 3 dias por afio calendario

LICENCIA NO UTILIZADA

Bajo esta Ley, la licencia con goce de pago acumulado de un empleado se traslada de un aiio a otro, sin embargo el
empleado no puede acceder al maximo permitido anualmente, a menos que el empleador lo autorice. Los
empleadores no tienen que pagar a los empleados las licencias no utilizadas una vez que se haya terminado la
relacién laboral o hayan renunciado.

APLICACION

La Oficina de sueldos y salarios del Departamento de Servicios de Empleo del DC puede investigar posibles
infracciones. A un empleador que deliberadamente viole los requisitos de la Ley se le impondra una multa civil por
la cantidad de quinientos délares ($500) por la primera infraccion, setecientos cincuenta délares ($750) por la
segunda infraccion y mil dolares ($1,000) por la tercera y subsiguientes infracciones.

PROTECCION DEL EMPLEADO
Los empleados que hacen valer sus derechos para recibir sus licencias con goce de sueldo, de conformidad con la
Ley, se encuentran protegidos contra represalias.

PRESENTACION DE UN RECLAMO O SOLICITUD DE INFORMACION ADICIONAL

Para solicitar el texto completo de la Ley, obtener una copia de las normas asociadas con esta Ley o para presentarun
reclamo, comuniquese con la Oficina de Salarios y Horas de Trabajo al (202) 671-1880, 4058 Minnesota Avenue, N.E.,
4th Floor, Washington, D.C. 20019, o visite www.does.dc.gov. Los reclamos se presentaran dentro de los sesenta (60)
dias después del evento en el cual se basa el reclamo, a menos que el empleador no haya cumplido con publicar el
anuncio de la Ley.




